top of page

Virat Kohli's Special Request Approved by BCCI! 🚨🏏

Despite the conclusion of IPL 2024, cricket fans are in for a treat with another T20 cricket event starting in just four days. The T20 World Cup, co-hosted by the USA and the West Indies, will begin on June 1. Some members of Team India have already reached America. Captain Rohit Sharma, Coach Rahul Dravid, and other key players left Mumbai last Friday night and landed in the USA. A few more players are yet to join the squad.

Star batsman Virat Kohli has made a special request to the BCCI to extend his break. He asked for permission to join the team later, which a senior BCCI official confirmed. Kohli informed the BCCI about his late arrival in advance, and the BCCI rescheduled his visa appointment. According to reports, Kohli will leave for New York on May 30, with the BCCI approving his request.

Will Virat Kohli Play the Warm-Up Match? Since Kohli is set to depart for America on May 30, his participation in the sole warm-up match is doubtful. The warm-up match against Bangladesh is scheduled for June 1. However, Kohli will join the team just a few hours before this match, making it unlikely that he will play due to travel fatigue.

The ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2024, co-hosted by the USA and the West Indies, kicks off on June 1. The mega tournament will start with a match between the USA and Canada at Grand Prairie Stadium in Dallas. On the same day, India will play its only warm-up match against Bangladesh. Team India’s first official match will be against Ireland on June 5, followed by the much-anticipated high-voltage match against Pakistan on June 9. India will also face the USA on June 12 and Canada on June 15.

In Group A of the World Cup, India will face off against arch-rival Pakistan, co-host USA, Canada, and Ireland. Rohit Sharma will captain the Indian team, with Hardik Pandya as the vice-captain. Other team members include Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Sanju Samson (keeper), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, and Mohammad Siraj. The reserve players are Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed, and Avesh Khan.