top of page

Team India Starts T20 World Cup with a Bang Under Rohit Sharma's Leadership!

Team India, led by Rohit Sharma, has kicked off their T20 World Cup journey with a stunning win against Ireland. The Group-A match, held at Nassau County Stadium in New York, saw India triumph by 8 wickets.

India won the toss and chose to bowl first. Ireland, batting initially, was bowled out for 96 runs in 16 overs. Chasing a target of 97 runs, India reached the goal in just 12.2 overs, losing only 2 wickets. Captain Rohit Sharma scored 52 runs before retiring hurt, while Rishabh Pant added 36 runs to steer the team to victory.

Rohit Sharma hit 4 fours and 3 sixes, while Pant struck 3 fours and 2 sixes. Virat Kohli and Suryakumar Yadav scored 1 and 2 runs, respectively. On the Irish side, Mark Adair and Benjamin White each took a wicket. Team India's next match is on June 9 against their arch-rival Pakistan.