top of page

Elections 2024: Ten States Gear Up for Sixth Phase Polls

India's Lok Sabha elections are in full swing, with five phases already completed. As the nation prepares for the sixth phase of voting on May 25, the campaign for this phase concludes today. Let's explore the states and constituencies involved in this crucial round and the number of candidates in the fray.

The sixth phase of elections on May 25 will span across ten states, encompassing a total of 58 Lok Sabha seats, with 889 candidates contesting. Haryana leads with 223 candidates, while Jammu and Kashmir has the fewest with 20 candidates. Here’s a breakdown:

Uttar Pradesh: 162 candidates are contesting in Sultanpur, Shravasti, Pratapgarh, Phulpur, Prayagraj, Dumariaganj, Basti, Ambedkar Nagar, Sant Kabir Nagar, Jaunpur, Bhadohi, Lalganj, Machhlishahr, Azamgarh, and the Baldiram Assembly seat.

Bihar: 86 candidates are vying for seats in West Champaran, East Champaran, Valmiki Nagar, Sheohar, Siwan, Vaishali, Maharajganj, and Gopalganj.

Haryana: 223 candidates are in the race for Hisar, Karnal, Ambala, Sonipat, Kurukshetra, Sirsa, Rohtak, Gurugram, Bhiwani-Mahendragarh, and Faridabad.

Jammu and Kashmir: Anantnag-Rajouri constituency will finally see polls in the sixth phase after a weather delay.

Jharkhand: Voting will occur in Ranchi, Giridih, Dhanbad, and Jamshedpur.

Odisha: Constituencies of Keonjhar, Sambalpur, Cuttack, Dhenkanal, Puri, and Bhubaneswar, along with Kuchinda, Raykhole, and Deogarh Assembly seats, are up for elections.

West Bengal: Voting will be held in Ghatal, Tamluk, Kanthi, Purulia, Jhargram, Medinipur, Bankura, and Bishnupur.

Stay tuned for more updates as we count down to the sixth phase of the Lok Sabha elections!