top of page

5th Phase of Lok Sabha Elections Begin: 659 Candidates in the Fray 🗳️🇮🇳

The 5th phase of the Lok Sabha elections has commenced, with polling starting in a short while for 49 constituencies across six states and two union territories. This phase is crucial for the BJP as 40 of these seats are NDA strongholds.

Key Details

  • States and Constituencies:

  • Uttar Pradesh: 14 seats

  • Maharashtra: 13 seats

  • West Bengal: 7 seats

  • Bihar and Odisha: 5 seats each

  • Jharkhand: 3 seats

  • Jammu and Kashmir, Ladakh: 1 seat each

  • Total Candidates: 659

Prominent Candidates

  • Rahul Gandhi: Congress leader contesting from Rae Bareli

  • Rajnath Singh: Defense Minister from Lucknow

  • Smriti Irani: Union Minister from Amethi

  • Rohini Acharya: RJD leader and daughter of former Bihar CM Lalu Prasad from Saran

  • Omar Abdullah: Vice President of National Conference from Baramulla, Jammu and Kashmir

Voter Participation

  • Polling Stations: 94,732

  • Eligible Voters: 8.95 crore

In Odisha, along with the 5 Lok Sabha seats, polling is also being held for 35 Assembly constituencies. Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik is contesting from two places.

Prime Minister Modi's Call to Action

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has urged voters to participate enthusiastically in this democratic festival and create a new voting record in this phase.