top of page

KKR Creates History with Victory Over Sunrisers in IPL-2024

In a stunning match on Tuesday night in Ahmedabad, the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) secured an 8-wicket victory over Sunrisers Hyderabad in Qualifier 1 of IPL-2024, reaching the finals with ease. Chasing a target of 160 runs, KKR's batsmen achieved the goal effortlessly, creating a historic record in the Narendra Modi Stadium.

KKR set a new record for the fastest run chase in IPL playoffs history, finishing the match with 38 balls to spare. No team had previously won a playoff match with such a significant number of balls remaining. This broke the previous record set by Mumbai Indians in the 2017 edition, who had won with 33 balls to spare against KKR.

Here’s a look at the top knockout wins with the most balls remaining:

  1. KKR vs Sunrisers Hyderabad (2024) - 38 balls remaining

  2. Mumbai Indians vs KKR (2017) - 33 balls remaining

  3. Chennai Super Kings vs Kings XI Punjab (2021) - 31 balls remaining

In the chase of 160 runs, KKR's batsmen were on fire. Venkatesh Iyer and Shreyas Iyer formed an unbroken 97-run partnership, hitting sixes and fours with ease. KKR secured the win in just 13.4 overs with 8 wickets in hand. This victory marks KKR's fourth entry into the IPL finals, having reached the finals in 2012, 2014, and 2021.

The upcoming Eliminator match between Rajasthan Royals and Royal Challengers Bangalore will determine who faces Sunrisers Hyderabad on the 24th. If Hyderabad wins, they will challenge KKR again in the final.

Related Posts

See All